We’re already on the start of the second quarter of 2012 but since I just created this blog, I just want to post the books I have read for the year 2011. Click the book titles to read the synopsis.

1. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman – Entertaining. It’s an easy read but I really enjoyed the time I spent with it. It’s pretty cool how he was raised in a graveyard by ghosts and how his body was able to cope up with that kind of environment. I just wished there are more scenes outside the main setting, the graveyard, and more interactions with other living people. But overall, it’s really good.

2. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card – Brilliant. Orson Scott Card’s brilliance as a writer radiates to the character he created, Ender. Considering this was written on 1994, the ideas that superfluously flow throughout the book is just magnificent. After I finished reading this, my mind was full of ‘what if’ questions. What if the peaceful world we know currently isn’t what it really is? What if the authorities are currently struggling against a battle on a space we don’t know? What if…  

3. Winne-the-Pooh by A.A Milne – I didn’t know Winnie-the-Pooh is originally a book. I thought it was first released as a cartoon show. Anyway, this is really an entertaining read. I learned a lot about Winnie-the-Pooh and his friends like Pooh is Edward Bear and he is not very much bright, and Piglet is so small he fits in a pocket.

4. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones – Most of the time I prefer reading books than watching its movie adaptation. But this time in Howl’s Moving Castle, I chose the movie over the book. I’m not really sure why, one factor maybe because I see Howl in the movie as more flamboyant and with appeal than in the book, or maybe because the music selection in the movie made the story more convincing and sensational. Regardless, it’s still worth the read.  

5. The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom – I find this slow paced, torpid, and dull. At first I was really excited to read this because Tuesdays with Morrie was quite fine, but when I was in the about half of the book it was like I was injected with quite an amount of anaesthetic. It took me days to finish this not so thick book. I don’t recommend it to readers who like fast paced, action packed stories.

6. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson – It was boring. I finished reading it just for the sake of finishing it.

7. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead – It was okay, entertaining with a little bit of romance. After you finish it, you will ask for more.

8. Frostbite by Richelle Mead – The second installment in the Vampire Academy series. The characters and the flow of the story got better but towards the end I don’t feel like reading the rest of the series.

9. The Giver by Lois Lowry – I think the book is overrated because though I find the concept and the plot interesting, it just did not tickle the curiosity within me.

10.Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl – This brings back memories. It was written simply yet it is very engaging.

11. Divergent by Veronica Roth – This is my ultimate favorite for the year 2011. I loved how Veronica Roth divided the people into factions. And although the idea is pretty unique, I liked how she introduced the different factions and how she burly built the story around the five groups. This is a must read for YA and dystopian readers! 

12. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – This is second in line after Divergent. I am a fan of Battle Royale that’s why I read this and I was surprised because it’s pretty good. 

13. Catching Fire  by Suzanne Collins – Thrilling. This is my favorite book among the three Hunger Games Trilogy books. The story was simply electrifying. Once you started reading you won’t dare putting the book down until you finished it. Another thing I liked in this book is the character of Peeta. He was astonishing. It’s impossible not to like him.

14. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry – This receives two stars for me. I don’t quite get it why they like this book very much. I don’t find it appealing or inspirational.

15. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night -Time by Mark Haddon – I liked how the author used prime numbers as the sequencing of its chapters. By reading this, you will get the feel of the world from the point of view of an autistic. 

16. A Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard –  I salute Jaycee Dugard for facing this unforgettable chaos that happened in her life. She let her feelings flow through the story. It was well written considering the pang that the author was experiencing while writing her story. While reading, you can feel the angst and the pain she went through .

17.  The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan –  I first watched the movie adaptation of this book but when my friend told me it was originally from a book, I read it without hesitation. I was shocked by the huge differences between the movie and the book. Although the movie is good, I still prefer the story from the book. And although this book should be focused to very young readers, I still liked it.

18.  The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan – It’s another adventure for Percy and his friends and this time their goal is to go to the sea of monsters. It is an okay children story but halfway through I started getting bored.

19. Battle Royale by Koushun Takami – Breathtaking. Brutal. Bloodthirsty. This novel is extremely terrifying, very suited for dystopian lovers like me. I see the students involved less barbaric than the government that handles them because they were just coerced to do the unimaginable. I think the novel wanted to point out that sometimes those with authorities simply can’t be defiled, and sometimes human life is just so unimportant in a way that it could be used as a threat to others and for entertainment as well. 

20. Little Brother by Cory Doctorow – Witty. It’s a fun read. I find the resemblance between w1n5ton and Ender from Ender’s Game. It’s just that w1n5ton is more liberated and of course he’s much older. I appreciate the flow of the story and how the characters were strongly built. At times, the plot becomes dull but then again the next turn of events prove to be more exciting and thrilling than the prior dull part. 

21. Blood Red Road by Moira Young – I give this four stars. At first till the end I was really excited to finish the book because of the many positive responses I heard concerning this book. When I was nearing the end of the book I was still waiting for a suspenseful turn of events, but I already finished the book and it seems that my hopeful action packed twist was nowhere to be found. 

22. Catch Me If You Can by Frank Abagnale – I really like this novel. I’m not yet a good or avid reader but I manage to finish this book in just few sittings. The reason maybe the fact that I love stuffs about numbers, fraud investigations, checks, action, mind puzzles. I recommend this book to those with the same interests as mine. Enjoy!  

23. Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy’s Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back by Todd Burpo – Enlightening. This true story about this kid will change the way you interact with people. You’ll realize how short our lives could be and how meaningful it is to cherish your loved ones or the people around you. You will be flabbergasted on how he described Jesus, Heaven, angels, and deceased people in the way where you yourself will somehow wish to experience or see at least what the kid saw and experienced. This story will definitely change your view on death. 

24. The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis – This is the book where everything in the Narnia series started. It’s not a good start for a good series.

25.  The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis – This is my favorite in the Narnia series. It is a must read.

26. The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis – This book seems to deviate from the rest of the books in the in the series. It is my least favorite.

27. Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis

28. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis

