So as not to take too much time at the end of the year  reviewing books I’ve read for the whole year of 2012, here is the list of books I’ve already read and its short reviews. Click the book title to read its synopsis.

1. Unwind by Neil Shusterman –  Utterly remarkable. Neal Shusterman’s idea on this is just amazing. Who would have thought that juvenile delinquents could be disposed just like that. This kind of process can really sweep the streets clean from unwanted thugs and goons. Don’t get me wrong though, I’m completely against that unwinding thing, besides blood’s thicker than water.

 2. Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton –  It’s amazing how detailed and realistic Jurassic Park is, considering it was written in 1990 where there were not much knowledge about dinosaurs exist as compared today. I like how the author inserted some scientific facts about dinosaurs and DNAs. It seems to me that with Crichton’s ideas, it may be possible to recreate the Jurassic era.

3. The Search by Iris Johansen – I didn’t like the story much because there’s no much story. In the beginning it was pretty okay but when the middle part approached it seemed that it became slow paced. I think it would be better if there were additional twists to occupy the reader’s minds.  

4. Bringing Down the House: The Inside Story of Six M.I.T. Students Who Took Vegas for Millions – by Ben Mezrich – Witty. It’s a very nice story considering the fact that it happened for real. It has a strong effect on me because after I read this I had the urge to play blackjack and try their card counting techniques. The feel of the story was kind of like Catch Me if You Can by Frank Abagnale. My comparison is not because they have the same plot, it’s because they both have the awesomeness and coolness in them.  

5. Seabiscuit: An American Legend by Laura Hillenbrand – Seabiscuit is a well written book but I got bored reading it. Well I’m not saying that it isn’t that great of a book, it’s just that I’m not fond of very detailed books. It’s also kind of slow paced, another reason for me not to adore this nonfiction.

6. Holes by Louis Sachar –  I was surprised that I haven’t read this yet because it was such a fun read. 

7. 1st to Die by James Patterson – This is a certified page turner. It’s my first James Patterson book and all I could say is that I’ll definitely read more of Patterson’s. The book was perfectly written in a simple way where you could easily relate to the main lead. It includes lots of twists, actually the book contains a twist up to the last dot.

8. The Society of S by Susan Hubbard –  It’s more of a family story than a vampire story. The Society of S is basically about a girl named Ariella seeking for her mother. It’s a heart warming novel but I didn’t enjoy it much because I’m not a fan of those kind of stories.

9. Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell –  It’s slow paced but the flow of the story is somewhat entertaining. It’s about the life of a girl left alone in an island, how she managed to survived, the creatures she made friends with, and how she was finally rescued from that deserted island. I was surprised at the end when the author noted that there really was a person like that, his name is Robinson Crusoe and he stayed in the island for almost 18 years.

10. Coraline by Neil Gaiman –  Actually, Neil Gaiman is my favorite children’s book author though Coraline just ranks after “The Graveyard Book”. Coraline is the name of the protagonist of the story. She is a girl who lives with her mother and her always busy father. In their new apartment, she saw a door that leads to an unknown place. When she entered, that unknown place turned out to be their “other” home. The other home houses her other mother and her other father. With that, she battles to return things back to normal.

11. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle –  The plot is interesting and is pretty okay for a children’s story.

12. I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore – I don’t know why I didn’t read this the first time it was recommended to me. After I watched the movie on tv, that was only when I decided to read this amazing book. The story is so great that I can’t stop reading. There was a time when I woke up at 3 in the morning and I read until I fell asleep. 

13. The Power of Six by Pitaccus Lore –  This second installment is more action packed than the first. I liked how the author told the story on the views of two different persons. Now that I finished this book I more than excited for the third book.

14. Legend by Marie Lu – This book is highly recommended to dystopian lovers. I like everything about this book- the way it was written, the characters, the flow of the story, the words used, the action and romance part, everything. Only one thing I don’t like is the book cover. 

15. Unearthly by Cynthia Hand – I thought I would enjoy this as much as I enjoy other fantasy novels but this failed me big time. It would take me great persuasion to read the next installments. 

16. Enclave by Ann Aguirre –  It is post apocalyptic to the core. Five stars for me.

17. The Maze Runner by James Dashner – The things Thomas knows are the only things the readers know. It is like a mystery from start to finish. I didn’t have a single clue on what will happen next. The cluelessness of the main character is what pushed me to turn and read every page of the book greedily. This is a must read.  

18. The Scorch Trials by James Dashner – This book is just really a continuation of the first book, The Maze Runner. It is as epic as the first one. After escaping the simulated reality, the Gladers thought that things will return to normal that there will be no more Grievers, mazes, and trials. Well, they were wrong. In fact, things have gotten worse. The challenges seemed to have become more impossible, there are the Cranks, the Scorch, and the Flare. 

19. The Death Cure by James Dashner – Honestly, I was a bit disappointed in the ending of the story because there were many unanswered questions. It did not reach my expectations. However, when compared to other trilogies I’ve read, The Death Cure is way better than some. 

20. The Darkening Dream by Andy Gavin – Well, the book has a story, it’s a vampire adventure. It’s interesting because it’s a rad combination of vampires and angels. I am amazed with how the author incorporated religion with the story. I am in awe with his confidence to tackle such sensitive topics. The book was beautifully written. The play of words is okay. However, somewhere in the book I got bored a bit but then curiosity again piqued my interest which made me finished the book. 

21. Delirium by Lauren Oliver –   Love is a disease, really? The concept is quite ridiculous to the point that it’s ludicrous. True, the author had her creative mind worked but I just don’t bite the whole story. However, I cannot deny the fact that I absolutely love the ending. I think it will be a great start for the second book.

22. James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl –  This is my lost childhood. Before I read the story, I was surprised that I did not even know how the story goes. Well, this novel proves to be a masterpiece of Roald Dahl.

